Following the announcement of the first annual official Dance Music Awards South Africa this past July, South African fans took to the internet to vote for the favourites for the past six weeks.

With the closing date for submissions closing this past Friday, the top final nominees in each category can finally be announced today. The nominee selection was held entirely online with the Dance Music Awards South Africa managed as an audience-voted award event dedicated to South African dance music.

This will be followed by public voting which will be made through the official website & social media until the 2nd October. With the fully transparent user voted award process, this gives the public the power to choose the award winners. Competition will be driven strictly by social media and online interaction, no “panel” will dictate the nominees.

The winners will be announced at an honorary dinner on the 5th October in Johannesburg.
POSTER 1.jpg


Smirnoff Best Male DJ

  • Kyle Watson
  • Chunda Munki
  • DJ Shimza
  • Black Coffee
  • Kyle Cassim

Smirnoff Best Female DJ

  • Abby Nurock
  • DJ Zinhle
  • Lady Lea
  • SimStar
  • Lady Sakhe

Best Producer

  • Jazzuelle
  • Black Coffee
  • Kyle Watson
  • Ryan Murgatroyd
  • Da Capo

Best Live Act

  • Goldfish
  • Black Motion
  • Good Luck
  • Pop Art
  • Mi Casa
Heineken Best Festival  
  • Ultra
  • Spring Fiesta
  • Oppikoppi
  • H20
  • Rocking the Daisies
Best Music Video (From Dance Artist)
  • Prince Kaybee Ft Lady Zamar – Charlotte
  • Strange Loving – Changes
  • TIMO ODV – Dancing Again
  • Bucie Ft Black Motion – Rejoice
  • Da Capo Ft Tresor – Speed of Sound

Best Male Vocalist of the Year

  • Kaylow
  • Timo ODV
  • Apple Gule
  • J’Something
  • Lazarusman

Smirnoff Best Female Vocalist of the Year

  • Bucie
  • Lady Zamar
  • Tamara Dey
  • Amanda Black
  • Jackie Queens

Best Record Label

  • Go Go Music
  • Chutney Records
  • Soulistic Music
  • House Afrika
  • Do It Now Recordings

Compilation of The Year

  • House Afrika Mzanzi 6
  • Fresh House Flava 9
  • Africa Get Physical
  • Kyle Watson Pres. The Low End Effect
  • Now Dance

Smirnoff Album of The Year

  • Good Luck – Nature Within
  • Jullian Gomes – Late Dreamer
  • Timo ODV Origins
  • Jazzuelle – Circles
  • Chunda Munki – Interference

Power Play Remix of The Year

  • Tresor- Never Let Me Go (Mobi Dixion Remix)
  • DeMajor feat. Lizwi – Traveller (Kususa & Quetornik Official Remix)
  • Alicia Keys – In Common (Black Coffee Remix)
  • Dj Ganyani ft Laila – Talk To Me (Prince Kaybee Remix)
  • Dj Merlon feat. Black Coffee & Khaya Mthethwa – Reflections (Enoo Napa Remix)
Best International DJ
  • Atjazz
  • Lars Behrenrath
  • DJ Snake
  • Dash Berlin
  • Alesso

Best International Producer

  • Atjazz
  • The Layabouts
  • Stimming
  • Lars Behrenroth
  • Deadmau5

Heineken Best Club of The Year

  • Origin
  • Truth
  • Electric Circus
  • Shimmy Beach
  • Toy Toy

Best House Record of the Year

  • Jullian Gomes – 1000 Memories
  • Chunda Munki – Interference
  • Sir Vincent Ft Lauren – Nirvana
  • DJ Thes – Man
  • Kyle Watson – Solace

Best Kwaito Record of the Year

  • Distruction Boyz – Madness (ft Tipcee)
  • Killer Kau – Tholukuthi Hey ft Mbali
  • Babes Wondumo – Wololo
  • DJ Gukwa ft Tipcee, Emza & DJ Tira – Amadada

Best EDM Record of the Year

  • Das Kapital – Bend It
  • Evida – You Gotta
  • Rocca & Martini – Sky
  • Royal K – Vices
  • Keystate – Calling

Power Play Best Underground Record of the Year

  • Kat La Kat – Strange Signals
  • Jazzuelle Ft Lazarusman – Don’t Forget Me
  • Floyd Lavine – Masala
  • Strange Loving – Valentino Groove
  • Aero Manyelo – Mooki

Best Dance Radio Show Award

  • Kyle Worde – The 411 – Touch HD
  • In Das We Trust – 5FM
  • The Kyle Cassim Show – 5FM
  • The Players Club – Da Kruk – YFM
  • The Urban Beat – Metro FM
For more information check out and stay glued to our social media handles.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



%d bloggers like this: