Langa Mavuso Unveils Highly Anticipated Debut Album ‘LANGA’

South African R&B Rising Star, Langa Mavuso, has just unveiled his highly anticipated debut album LANGA.

It’s only been two years since singer, songwriter and musician Langa Mavuso burst onto the South African music scene with his critically acclaimed debut EP Liminal Sketches, and breakthrough single Sunday Blues. Both fans and critics alike have lamented the long wait for his highly anticipated sophomore project and his self-titled debut album LANGA is testament, not just to his incredible talent and artistry, but also to how much Langa Mavuso has risen to become one of the most exciting R&B voices of South Africa in the past 24 months, revered for his glorious vocals, exquisite falsetto tones, captivating storytelling and vivid songwriting.

With themes of heartbreak, self-reflection and exploring a new version of himself, the 12-track LANGA album is authentic and relatable. Langa Mavuso shares, “This album is the honest sharing of my heart and a candid journal of my journey back to myself after losing love. It will make you cry, dance and maybe even smile. This is the window into my life through love.”

You can stream or download Langa Mavuso’s LANGA here:

Langa Mavuso unveils his LANGA album on the back of being named by Deezer as their NEXT Artist of 2020 (the only South African artist to feature on their list). The album also comes on the back of two already well received singles this year – ‘Love Lost’, produced by FARR’s Linden Jay (Chloe x Halle, Lion Babe, Duke Dumont) and ‘Panther’ featuring exciting Xhosa rap artist Yanga Chief, which was produced by duo Noble, who recently worked with Beyoncé on her Grammy Award-winning album The Lion King: The Gift.

Already charting on the iTunes Top 100 All Genres Chart (in the Top 40) and at #3 on the iTunes R&B/Soul Album Chart since it became available for pre-add earlier this month, Langa Mavuso is expected to have a very strong, well supported album release.

Speaking about the inspiration behind his new album, Langa Mavuso says, “This album is inspired by heartbreak. This is me taking a moment to look in the mirror and reflect on self, through the journey of this heartbreak, and you’ll see three different phases of this journey play out throughout the album, with every four songs; in the beginning we reflect on the pain and upset caused by losing love, with this part of the album expressing the initial acceptance of a relationship ending. In the second part, we step into a more tumultuous part of the heartbreak; inspired by the sounds of nightclubs and a lifestyle that can be described as a distraction.

Most of the music in this second phase is me exploring a new version of myself and ultimately looking for love in all the wrong places in the attempt to avoid dealing with the pain, but this charade all ends with a song call ‘Pretend’, which shifts the album’s focus back to internal work and spiritual alignment. The final part of the album starts with me praying for salvation and leads to me finally accepting that this love is lost.”


1.       Calamities

2.       Intliziyo (featuring Loyiso)

3.       Mvula

4.       Searching

5.       Cheat Code

6.       Panther (featuring Yanga Chief)

7.       All Of Me

8.       Powerlines

9.       Pretend (featuring Aimee George)

10.   Spirit

11.   I Wish (featuring Zoe Modiga and Manana)

12.   Love Lost

Connect with Langa Mavuso online to share your sentiments on his debut offering and make sure to stream or download LANGA today –

Connect with Langa Mavuso:

Facebook: @LangaMav

Twitter: @LangaMav

Instagram: @LangaMav

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



%d bloggers like this: