#LAChats With Sis Tamara About Her Favourite Things

Ukho Samela, also known as Sis Tamara, is a Queenstown-born and raised film student. Sis Tamara does not identify as a specific gender and describes her experience as gender non-conforming. She is passionate about LGBQTI+ community representation and uses her various platforms and exposure to raise awareness.

We caught up with her to find out her favourite things while enjoying Gordon’s new flavours:

What is your favourite thing about yourself?

[SIS TAMARA]: Right now it has to be my fearlessness and my confidence.

Favourite thing about being in the Big Brother House?

[SIS TAMARA]: It has to be the fact that I was able to gender bend. I would wake up one morning and decide to be in a skirt, later on in the day I would be in overalls and later in the evening I would be in a ball gown. It was amazing to be my true self and have a good time doing so.

Who is your favourite fashion icon?

[SIS TAMARA]: I have many favourites but I will have to say Rich Mnisi. People are so obsessed with Sis Tamara and forget that I have my tomboy side of me. With Rich, whenever I want to tap into my androgynous self, he’s the first person that comes to mind.

What is your favourite thing to wear in your closet?

[SIS TAMARA]: The higher the heel, the closer I am to God. It has to be a pair of very high heels, something very short, be it a skirt or a pair of shorts and a crop top. I have always hidden my body because I battled with my confidence and had a very low self esteem, so the minute I started embodying Sis Tamara I wanted to embrace myself and love the parts that I never used to love, loudly so.

What is your favourite brand?

[SIS TAMARA]: I’ve dubbed myself as the Pink Berry Hun. My favourite brand has to be Gordon’s.

What is your favourite thing to do with your family and friends?

[SIS TAMARA]: Most of the time I am Ukho, I’m not Sis Tamara all the time, so Ukho is a homebody. When I’m with my family I enjoy sitting at home, binge-watching movies or series. We chat, eat and indulge in the occasional cocktail – try the Gordon’s Pink Berry or the Sunset Orange, you will thank me later. When I’m with my friends, the streets literally call my name. When I am with my friends, I am a “groovist”.

What is your favourite cocktail?

[SIS TAMARA]: Definitely has to be Gordon’s Pink Berry. It’s nice and clean. I don’t enjoy sweet drinks so it’s the perfect drink for me. What I also love about this cocktail is that there is #NoBabalas. Anyone I recommend it to says the same thing, I think that’s a quality we can definitely appreciate.

What is your favourite restaurant?

[SIS TAMARA]: It has to be the Mezepoli in Melrose Arch. The first time I took myself out on a solo date was at this restaurant. I always found the concept of sitting alone at a restaurant very daunting but I overcame that fear. I’ve gone back to the restaurant a couple of times with my friends but it has a very special place in my heart.

What is your favourite food?

[SIS TAMARA]: That’s a tricky question but it has to be beef stew with pap or ummgqusho (samp and beans). I live alone so I miss my mom’s cooking, anything that reminds me of home or my mom, is definitely a favourite.

What is your favourite holiday destination?

[SIS TAMARA]: I really enjoy Cape Town, the weather is always amazing. There’s something about the air that makes you feel free. Anywhere where there’s water, I’m there. I’ve never been to Durban though but I would love to go there one day – wink!

Who is your favourite artist at the moment?

[SIS TAMARA]: I’m currently obsessed with Morda! These are the top 5 songs I’m currently loving:

  1. Munghana
  2. Ndinovalo
  3. Mohigan Sun
  4. Summer Love
  5. Xele

Follow Gordon’s on:

Instagram: @GordonsFlavoursSA

Twitter: @GordonsGinZA @GordonsFlavourSA

Interview powered by Gordon’s.

Leave a Reply

Shopping cart


No products in the cart.

Continue Shopping

Discover more from Le'Afrinique

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading

%d bloggers like this: