Celebrating Penmanship At The 2nd Annual Verse Of The Year Awards

Wednesday saw the celebration of some of SA’s top lyricists at the second annual Verse of the Year Awards held in Braamfontein. Founded by hip hop veteran, Stogie T, the event celebrated artists who delivered the best verses over 2018.

Attended by over 150 industry leaders, music executives, artists and media, the fun-filled intimate event was a true celebration of hip hop.

Guests included the Verse of the Year judges Stogie T, Zubz, Sabelo Mkhabela and Mercia Tucker. Also in attendance was YFM’s DJ Sabby, hip hop curators Helen Herimbi and Azizar Mosupi, Vth Season’s Ninel Musson and MTV’s Sandile Ntshingila amongst many others.

The top ten winners announced included Laylizzy (TXI), Zakwe (Sebentin Remix), Jovislash (The Dagga Song), Ginger Trill (The High End Freestyle) Captain (The ReUp Ft), Reason (Father Figure Ft), Kid Tini (Movie), A-Reece (Couldn’t Have Said It Better Myself Pt. 2), and Kwesta (Biskop Ft). Rap superstar Nasty C took the overall prize with the best Verse of the Year award for his verse on the hugely popular track Wuz Dat (Ft).

Newcomer to the game, Touchline took home the Hennessy People’s Choice Award with over 700 public online votes.

Awards founder Stogie T concluded the evening, “A huge shout out to every artist featured in this year’s Verse of the Year Awards. These awards were created to salute hip hop and to celebrate skill and the artform of MC’ing.” He added, “As always, the magic continues on SlikourOnLife with the monthly Verse of the Month which will resume next month. And of course, see you all next year at the 3rd annual  Verse of the Year Awards.”

Hip hop heavyweights Priddy Ugly and Rouge closed off the evening with live performances post the formal announcements.


Laylizzy – TXI

Zakwe – Sebentin Remix

Jovislash – The Dagga Song

Ginger Trill – The High End Freestyle

Captain – The ReUp (Ft)

Reason – Father Figure (Ft)

Kid Tini – Movie

A-Reece – Couldn’t Have Said It Better Myself Pt. 2

Kwesta – Biskop (Ft)

Nasty C – Wuz Dat (Ft)

Touchline – 5 Grand (Hennessey People’s Choice Award)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



%d bloggers like this: